ICC Announces Men’s T20 World Cup 2020

The seventh edition of the ICC T20 World Cup is scheduled to be held in Australia from 18 October to 15 November 2020. T20 format is the most entertaining format of the cricket. West Indies is the defending champion of the T20 world cup and will play their first match against New Zealand. A total of 12 teams divided in 2 groups will participate in super 12 group matches. The top 8 ranked teams in ICC T20 rankings as of 31 December, 2018 which are Pakistan, India, England, Australia, South Africa, New Zealand, West Indies and Afghanistan have automatically qualified for the T20 world cup. The remaining 4 teams for the group stage will be finalized by playing a first round. Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have to play with the T20 world cup qualifiers to secure their position in the super 12s.

Teams for the super 12s round are as follow:

Group 1

New Zealand
West Indies
First round group A team 1
First round group B team 2

Group 2

South Africa
First round group B team 1
First round group A team 2

Venues for the T20 world cup are:

  • Adelaide Oval, Adelaide
  • The Gabba, Brisbane
  • Kardinia Park, Geelong
  • Bellerive Oval, Hobart
  • Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne
  • Perth Stadium, Perth
  • Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

These seven venues will host the total 45 matches. The first match of the super 12s round will be played between Host Australia and World top ranked team Pakistan at Sydney Cricket Ground while Melbourne Cricket Ground will host the final match of the T20 world cup. The first semi final will be played on 11 November at Sydney Cricket Ground and the second semi final will be played on 12 November at Adelaide Oval.

This time Pakistan champions of 2009 and India champions of 2007 are not in the same group so no group match for the Pakistani and Indian cricket fans but both teams can meet up in the semi final or in the final match. Sri Lanka has played the three finals with one victory and two-time runners up in the T20 world cups.

Updated: January 30, 2019 — 11:38 am
AboutWorldCup © 2019